DASHING DIARIES #48 WHAT’S UP WITH ALL THE SUSHI?

So, my first door dash Friday night since my “heart” incident was tonight. January 26th, 2024. Everything was going well. The orders were steadily coming in, and the money was right. As the day turned to night, the air got just a little bit chillier. I noticed the orders began to slow down. Then a shopping order came in for a grocery store that seemed to be nothing but Sushi! It wasn’t that far up the road but was taking me closer to my house, so I decided to take it.

I got to the Grocery store, hit the start shopping button, and realized pretty quickly that this order was not going to be as simple as I originally thought. With nine items on the list, seven of them being the fresh sushi from the Sushi bar that makes it in the morning and once it is sold out, it is gone for the day. After getting help from one of the employees, I had to cancel three of the seven items on the Sushi list because they were out. Now if you have never done door dash if you cannot find an item and the customer didn’t add a replacement it will tell you to call or text them to see if they want a replacement.

So, the first thing I did was text them letting them know that the items they wanted were sold out. No response as I continued to look for the only two items on the list not Sushi. After, a while and already getting the other items I needed, I tried calling them, yet the phone number was out of order, What? How can you order something from Door Dash knowing they have no way of reaching you? Why? Makes zero sense to me. All I could do at this point was refund the items and make my way to the address on file, hoping it was correct.

As, I placed all the items in my passenger seat of the car, I realized it’s Friday, what if the person that ordered all of this was drunk? Then I thought, “No, that can’t be right, right?” Yet, as I followed the little Google Maps arrow inching my way closer to the customer and into a more let’s just say “sketchy” neighborhood, I realized the possibility of a drunken customer was greater and greater.

They say never judge a neighborhood by its cover. Yet, this neighborhood was just gross, how could I not judge it. First, the houses went from nice little brick homes with nice little block driveways to gravel driveways and mold growing on all the outside of the siding of houses that was either falling off or completely gone in some cases. Trash in every yard and littering the streets. I knew I was “not in Kansas anymore, Toto” when I came to the end of a street and there was a sign that read dip. No other warning, just a sign letting you know there was a dip in the road. Now, I have seen these signs before and there might be a little lower area in the road but this, this was a gigantic hole that appeared to be a crater left in the street. While the side of the road was completely missing due to a clear sinkhole. What? My tiny car all but disappeared as I moved at a snail pace to get back up on the road to deliver this Sushi.

Finally, after clearing this nightmare, I get to the customer’s house and as I pull up a sliver of fear races up my spine. I see a couple sitting inside their garage smoking “herbal” cigarettes, if you know what I mean. I ask if this as the address, and they yelled back yes. Never once getting out of their seats or even making a move to do anything. I grabbed their bags and handed it to the lady. She just kept on chain-smoking and mumbling something about putting the bags next to her. I want to tell you that I had to step over trash dogs and God only knows what that smell was to basically sit her food on top of more trash and piles of cigarette butts she just shoved over so I could set her food down. To make matters worse I think the smell was coming from her and the man behind me, neither looked like they had bathed nor changed clothes in a few days and when she rushed out “Thanks.” It took everything I had not to gag in front of her from the smell of old, stale liquor coming from her face.

I don’t think I have ever dropped someone’s order so fast in my life and got the hell out of there as I politely as I could grit,”your welcome.” through my teeth. Have you ever seen the movie Wrong Turn? This is what that felt like. What startled me more than anything was that by the time I reached my car, The garage door was already slammed shut. Neither of them ever having moved. Crazy right? This is what is wrong with this country these days. Aren’t you embarrassed that you ordered food, high and drunk off your ass? I normally don’t judge people but this, come on, run a comb through your hair, put on some deodorant, something. If you are not embarrassed, you should be. However, being drunk off your ass, you may not remember it anyway. Thank you anyway for a good story and the phenomenal tip, because as you all know I am only it for the money honey.

I was going to title this one What’s the Story Drunken Whorey, but my husband thought that would be bad. So I titled it what’s up with all the Sushi. What do you guys think? What would catch your attention more? let me know below.

Leave a comment