THE PRINCESS AND THE DRAGON

Screenshot_2017-06-01-22-08-37-1

I knew I wanted him! From the moment our eyes met from across the great hall of my father’s castle. I was sixteen and he much older but it didn’t matter. He awakened something in me that could never be doused. A fire much like the one burning in his irises I knew he was forbidden but my desire grew anyway. It was just a flicker at first and then, it became overwhelming I would have vivid dreams of the two of us locked in a hot, sweaty, naked embrace. I would wake damp and throbbing in places I should feel ashamed about yet, I don’t. By the time I was twenty-one, as I was wading through all the princes to come my way. I sat there on my own throne next to my father wishing for only one man. Yet, it was taboo, taboo to have the one thing I wanted this man, this creature this dragon.

He was the last of his kind, and even though we hadn’t slept together a few stolen kisses here and there had me panting after him like a dog in heat. I could almost feel his hot callused hands caressing my face. His fingers twirling my hair. And those eyes, lit with a lick of flame boring into my soul, as if I were the only thing in the world worth living for. The man that was there for me when I was kidnapped at seventeen, he was there when I was taken for ransom at eighteen, he was there when I was lost in the woods on a dark rainy night at nineteen, he has always been there for me. At twenty- one I was to chose a mate, someone to spend my life with a King to my Queen, yet the problem was I had already found my King. How could I even think of another man when this, creature was all I could see. He was hired by my father to protect me and while he did a great job, he became so much more to me. My life,  my heart, my soul.

That day, everything changed. The day of my twenty-first birthday. I had just rebuffed the Prince of Spain and as I scanned the great hall for my dragon the castle was raided. My father was killed and I was taken. Instantly making me Queen with my father’s death I knew this time would be different. This time my dragon wouldn’t be there to save me. I knew my death was imminent as I was dragged off in the dead of night, kicking and screaming toward a dark and what I thought was a deserted cave. I was hauled deep down into the cave dragged down by my hair kicking and screaming calling out for him to save me once again. As the endless downward spiral came to a stop and I was tossed to the middle of a dirt floor, soaking up my tears like a sponge. For one moment it was silent, I could hear water dripping in the distance and it was so cold even through the layers of my dress and it was pitch dark. Then a sliver of fear tickled my spine as a deep booming laughter echoed throughout the cave.

“Your dragon can’t save you now Princess, or should I say all hail the Queen?”  a deep male voice said with disdain in his voice. The cave was suddenly lit with candles and if it weren’t for the nightmare walking toward her me I  would have thought it rather beautiful shimmering off the walls. He stopped just short of my feet, towering over me with a  sneer on his face and were those, fangs protruding from his face. I tried to scramble away as he reached down and grabbed me by the hair with a swiftness no mere mortal was capable of. He laughed again only this time I could see his glowing red eyes and the sneer that crossed his face seemed to have made the fangs bigger. He was not human after all but a true creature of the night I had only heard about in fairy tales, but this, this was no fairy tale. “You see princess”, he spoke again as if bored with the situation. “Your dragon has been cursed, he sleeps, and while he sleeps me and mine can emerge from the hole we are forced to live in and reign the night once again. You are nothing more than collateral damage here. While he sleeps he is being tortured by the thought of you in my hands. I thought a swift death would be enough but seeing how much he cares about you. I have decided a whole new way torture him. For at least the next 500 years he will be having a nightmare of you turning into one of us, and I will enjoy every last second of it!” With that, he descended closer and closer as he yanked my head to the side exposing the pulse in my neck. Before I could blink he was on me he pierces my tender flesh with his now even longer fangs and I screamed a blood-curdling scream that could have probably waken the dead. The last thing I heard before everything went dark was that deep booming laughter of the creature who was killing me.

I died that day, and then I became immortal. I came too in my bed, praying it had all been some kind if sick dream and knowing it wasn’t. I took over the kIngdom and ruled with an iron fist. I went down in the history books as the only Queen to rule by darkness. To never marry or produce and heir. I eventually had to fake my death, as I never aged, My kingdom knew there was something wrong with me. My appetite was gone I could only sleep during the day, and I even began wearing things to cover myself so they wouldn’t freak out to see I wasn’t getting any older. For twenty-years I was Queen and then I stepped down and began my search, the search for my dragon.

I have spent the better part of the last 500 years searching for my beloved dragon. I roamed city to city, country to country until I found him. Still asleep, just like my maker said. The curse was real, I found out throughout the years that not just the nightmare of Vampires was real but also every other dark creature that lurked around every corner. Witches were real too and I finally found the witch that had placed a sleeping curse on my dragon. She had refused to rescind the curse or tell me where he was. As my maker saw it fitting to move him every century or so to keep me on my toes. This witch was evil and did give out one tiny bit of information. Since she was useless to me, her death was swift and I enjoyed the fact that she was my first and only kill. She did reveal the time his curse would be lifted and so here I sit. Watching, waiting, pretending to drink the late in my hands, just outside the little bistro across the street from the graveyard, and the mausoleum where he has slept for nearly two decades, under the full moon it is a peaceful night.

I pretend to sip the hot stuff once again, as the clock tower in the church next to the graveyard begins to strike midnight. A brief giggle escapes me as I think “how ironic it is the witching hour!” Just as the twelfth bell chimes the ground begins to quake, and a deep roar shatters the quiet night. Fire begins to leak out of the mausoleum as the man I haven’t laid eyes on in 500 years steps out of the now engulfed building. Long black hair swirling about his face from the updraft of the fire. With no shirt or shoes on and those eyes, those eyes the same as they were the day they closed. Licked in flames, you could literally see the fire in his eyes. For one moment I was breathless if that was even possible for the walking dead. I just sat there stunned by his beauty watching as our eyes locked and a wicked smile crossed my face. Finally, my dragon awakens!

TO BE CONTINUED…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

