IT’S MY ANNIVERSARY!

Today is the day, today is my Anniversary! Or should I call it my blogaversary! Yes, yes, it was two years ago today I posted my first post on WordPress. I have grown so much since then as a person and a writer. It has given me a certain freedom I never knew was possible. Being able to write what I want, say exactly how I feel, with no judgment only support. I,  like so many others, needed that in my life so thank you blog family. As I sit here listening to Theory of a Deadman’s SACRIFICE, one of the inspirations for my blog name, and my theme song. It got me thinking about Sacrifice and all the things people sacrifice for others. Like today Memorial Day the day, we celebrate all the good men and women in the military that have sacrificed the ultimate sacrifice their lives, dedicated to making our lives one filled with peace, and the blanket of freedom so many of us take for granted as we lay our heads down at night on our comfortable pillows. While they are holed up somewhere, not so comfortable.

It got me thinking about our liberties, the rights we were given when our forefathers wrote the constitution especially the freedom of speech, and the freedom to write said speeches. The rights that our military still fight for today.  Our history is filled with great men and women that exercised their liberty to speak their minds and had the guts to share them with the world. Such greats as Martin Luther King, Maya Angelou, Charlotte Bronte, Abraham Lincoln, and one Mr. John F. Kenedy.  It makes me feel grateful to be an American woman with the freedom to write and speak as I see, please. When just a few short years before women were only seen and not heard. It gives me a sense of purpose in a world of uncertainty. It is a great time to be an American.

However, times they are a changing. After watching this year’s election, and seeing so many people on facebook and twitter tweeting about everything. I realized that our world, nay my country is filled with censorship. You can’t say this, you can’t say that someone might get offended. Which, the more I think about it pisses me off. Is this the government’s way of working around the Constitution? A loophole if you will. Something our country was built on or has America gone soft. Do they not realize that it is our inalienable right to speak our minds, to write as the greats once did. So what if I piss someone off with my words. In my experience, if I have pissed you off with my words I have struck some kind of cord of truth. Why is it okay for someone to get offended by what I write, but it is not okay for me to be upset they are trying to take my rights away? Doesn’t seem fair, does it? After all only sticks and stones can really break me?

It amazes me that there is so much censored now that we have to walk through the landmine of our words. It frustrates me to no end that instead of taking a leap from where all the greats began leading us in the past we seemed to have gone backward. Before you know it women will be back to not having the same rights we all fought for, for so long. Yet, today, today is not that day. Today is the day we celebrate those that have fought for our, my right to speak my mind and use my words. “The pen is mightier than the sword” for now, and so I pick up my sword and fight. I fight for my right to speak my mind to write about injustice and celebrate my right to offend whomever I chose, simply because I can…

HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY EVERYONE!

One thought on “IT’S MY ANNIVERSARY!

Leave a Reply

