BLURBS

I have been reading the very first series of books that I have read after seeing the movie. It has been an arduous journey as I kept loosing interest because some of which I thought I already knew what was going to happen. However, when it did surprise me and change I was elated. Keeping the audience on their toes is the goal here, right?

Yet, I read things in this series that just cannot be conveyed on the big screen. It takes the written word to feel that surprising sunset streaked with hues of blue, purple and pink. It takes the written word to feel that monster’s sadness at the thought of being killed by the town’s people carrying pitchforks up the hill to his doom. At least for me, it takes more than to see it on the screen, the book makes me feel it as well. Knowing what a true sunset is, is to not only see it but to feel the heat of its last rays as it sets over the causing the sea to be as liquid fire for just a breath before darkness inevitably takes over.

I don’t know if I have become more mature as a writer, or I just pay more attention to the words on the page because I am a writer but I just wanted to share some of the things that stuck out to me that made this series so wonderful. Let me know if you figure out what series I am talking about in the comment section.

A chill scraped up her spine

“Sometimes the marks can give you screaming nightmares. If you get them when your to young”

Lupine gaze. Teeth dripping scarlet

feel its hot breath on the backs of her bare legs

Her teeth burst out of her gums and rattled to the floor like spilled chicklets.

White buds plied the water their sails drifting by like dandelion clocks tossed on the wind.

The sky was licked with the last tongues of a fading fire. The water had turned to iron.

The sky outside was the color of charcoal half sunk into ruby ashes

The sun was burning down beyond the horizon now flooding the sky were blood and roses turning the edge of the river to liquid gold.Softening the ugliness of the urban waste all around them.

Thickly leaved branches breathed out cool green-scented air.

“It smells like springtime”, she thought before the heat comes and crushes the leaves into a pulp and withers the petals off the flowers.

That is all I have for now but reading these parts gave me goosebumps as I could actually feel, smell, and see what this writer was talking about. These are the lines between the action that kept me interest in this series. I just wanted to share it with all of you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

