RED PLANET

My thoughts are chaotic. A jumble of nerves and stress. As I gaze out at the valley below from my perch cliffside. I watch as the dead planet continues to decompose right before my eyes. I sit here in my favorite summer dress with the purple flowers set into an ecru background hiked to my hips. While my bare feet are buried in the dry red sand. My chestnut hair blowing in the stilted breeze. I pick a wildflower from the only patch of earth that grows anything in this place. I see the sun now setting over the horizon and I can’t help but feel I have never felt closer to GOD than in this moment.

The night will be upon me soon and I will have to go back inside where it is safe. After a millennia of infighting between Earth and Mars, I am all that is left of Mars. Alone on a planet that I didn’t even want to come to when I was just a girl. I am now grown and after my parents were killed in the last war between planets, I am all that is left. Of our attempt to colonize it.

That was four years ago and if I ever ran into another person I would probably die of shock more so than spending the last four years alone on an entire planet. I don’t know how I would even get back to earth. There are abandoned ships here yet, I don’t know how to fly them. Ironic that my only means of escaping this devastating land would be the one thing my father never taught me to do before his passing. I don’t know how many more nights I can go without interaction  between me and another person. I m half crazy as it is, Now all I can think about is the strange man that shows up in my dreams at night.

Maybe he is why I am restless lately and the reason my dreams have turned erotic in nature. I simultaneously dread and anticipate the night to come. As the sun fully descends into the ether and plunges me into darkness, I slowly walk back into the base and  seal the doors. Night has fallen and the only living thing on this planet comes out to play. Creatures of every nightmare I have ever had that would suck the marrow from my bones without a second thought. I am so glad I have the confines of the base to protect me from such creatues yet, the thought of going to bed fills me with such mixed emotions I crank on the tv and watch old reruns of I Love Lucy. I shiver at the thought of the coming dream and the handsome stranger that ravishes me each and every night. I fight to stay awake as sleep tries to claim me. As I finally lose the battle and nod off I can’t help but feel a change in the winds. A sense of foreboding washes over me as the handsome stranger 

 appears and walks slowly toward me….

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/chaotic/”>Chaotic</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

