VALUE

VALUE

WRITE A POST IN RESPONSE TO TODAY’S ONE – WORD PROMPT.

 

Value, we go through life constantly trying to proof our value to others, our worth. What are we worth? Are we considerate to others? Do we show others that are worth the value they place on us? Are we more valuable that joe blow because we have more friends on facebook? Is there an actual set standard for each and every one of us and our value?

This is just a few of the questions that come to mind. It is exhausting. I have been having issues with my seventeen-year-old son and the value he has placed on having the parents he has. Tonight, I worry about the way he doesn’t value… anything. Is it just his age? Is it outside influence? Is it just that he has not matured enough to realize he is priceless! I am worried sick that he will not value himself enough to realize his potential to conquer anything that he sets his mind to.

I love him with all of me and yet, he doesn’t see it that way. I wish I could project some of my memories onto him and let him see the horrors of my past. It would break my heart to have him witness such atrocities but I need him to understand he has good parents that do the best they can for him. Not the monsters he suddenly thinks we are just because we question what he wants to do with his life.

He doesn’t get that we want to help him start out in the world with support and love not what either his father and I had when we set out on our own. Suddenly in his mind, he doesn’t need or want our help but he won’t do anything to help himself either. Suddenly, he doesn’t see his worth after being told all his life he is loved, he is cared for, he has us to lean on. My heart is breaking for him and after all these years I am at a loss as to what I can do to fix his thinking.

He should know everyone is valued. If not they should be. It is the human way. Any suggestions please comment.

 

 

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/value/”>Value</a&gt;

 

 

Leave a Reply

