SLOG

SLOG

WRITE A POST IN RESPONSE TO TODAY’S ONE – WORD PROMPT.

I couldn’t think of anything so I am just going to post a poem I found with this word in it. Here goes it is called A WOMAN IS RUNNING FOR HER LIFE BY SHEILA DEMETRE

Under my ribcage a live coal

is singing. It wheedles from its hutch

of bone,glows blue in every kindling breath. 

I need these bright shoes to burn up centuries 

of inertia, of sickness holding me limp

with forehead ground against my tangled knees.

Celestial now, I’m all brush and sweep.

My elbows scribble, quickening the air I SLOG.

Don’t touch my sparks, my hieroglyphs of heat.

Light bellows over the lustrous hip

and oils the backbone’s trough of knobs.

I just want to go on churning, smoking from sight

around earth’s bulge, her green sizzle.

In the gist of my own wheeling

I’ll be bone-dust millions of miles long:

the meteor’s tail you glimpse in winter, the fly

whose hymn your hand keeps trying to still.

 

 

 

 

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/slog/”>Slog</a&gt;

 

Leave a Reply

