AIMLESS

AIMLESS

WRITE A POST IN RESPONSE TO TODAY’S ONE – WORD PROMPT.

Remember how when you were young and started high school. People would immediately pressure you. What are you going to do when you get out of high school? Are you going to college? Are you going straight into the workforce? What do you want to be or do for the rest of your life? Really! I was still wondering where my first period was {I was a very late bloomer} in 9th grade let alone what I wanted to do with the rest of my life!

Yet, the minute you say I don’t know you want to be what you want to do they describe you as Aimless! Like I just said “hey I want to be a vagabond and just hop aimlessly from one city to the next never taking on responsibilities or be responsible. Or was that just my life…

I can’t even describe the sheer amount of dirty looks I got from adults back then just because I didn’t have everything figured out at 15! I must be crazy right! Now I fear I am doing the exact same thing with my son and It feels dirty. Yet, at the same time he is 17, and going into his senior year of high school! He appears to have no drive whatsoever even to get his driver’s license.

We got him a free car a couple of months ago and I thought maybe he will find his drive now! Ha ha, no pun intended or did I! Yet, here we are a couple of months later and nothing! He has no plans for the future and I am terrified for him. Terrified that he will be… dare I say Aimless forever!

We all get a little Aimless at times where we shirk our responsibilities or at least want to that is what separates the  grown-ups from the children after all! Yet, with no ambition no gumption, I fear for his future! I fear it will cost him greatly when he does get out into the world and it bites him hard. Or maybe that is just the thing he needs to get his ass in gear! Either way, I will love him regardless and vow to never use the word Aimless when it comes to him!

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/aimless/”>Aimless</a&gt;

One thought on “AIMLESS

  1. So, what you’ve just described is my life in a nutshell. I graduated from college last year. I had my life all planned out and then all those plans failed. For the last year I feel like I’ve just been drifting. I know my mom shares many of the concerns that you’ve just voiced. All I can say is please continue to be supportive. There’s nothing worse than feeling lost yourself and then being bombarded with things that people expect you to know. When you graduate or about to graduate you realize just how big life is…one choice could present you with a million different paths branching off…sigh. adulting is hard. Take pity on those us just venturing in it.lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

