SIMPLICITY

SIMPLICITY

WRITE A POST IN RESPONSE TO TODAY’S ONE – WORD PROMPT.

There is a simplicity in just being! Being in a place or situation that brings you utter peace and contentment that it almost makes you cry! Like today for example. Do you know how long it has been since I just sat and did nothing? The answer you are looking for is, A long ass time! We are always busy trying to make money, trying to put food on the table in a timely manner, trying to get the kids off to school on time, trying to just get through the week until the weekend without the need to strangle something or someone! I feel as if the days are getting shorter while the tasks keep getting larger! There is never enough time in the day to just be! Such is the life of a grown up!

But today, today I got to just hang out poolside in the sweltering heat and I loved every second of it! At one point I sat there sunning myself and looked up at the sky through my darkened sunglasses and inspiration struck! It strikes anywhere you know. Like a bolt of lightening hitting me and bowling me over I almost began to weep at the pureness of the moment! I sat there staring at the beautiful wispy clouds rolling by while the sun baked me and I realized just how long it has been since I looked up at the sky and just appreciated the beauty of a sunny day filled with rolling clouds that looked like puffs of whipped cream in the midst of all that clear blue!

I was probably 13 or 14 the last time I enjoyed such a view and knew I had to write about it. Here I am almost 40 and it has taken me all these years to find that moment again that moment where I looked up at the sky and all her beauty and find a lingering moment of peace. It was as if I could simply reach out and touch the puffing whiteness of the clouds and imagined swirling them around with my hands.

I was immediately transformed back to that prepubescent time in my life. Arms widespread  twirling to music only I can hear while staring up at that big blue ocean we call sky! Then landing in the tall grass breathless and happy. Lounging there as if I am the only person in the world and the sky is my blanket!

For one brief second today, I was that girl! I was that content teen sharing a secret with the clouds only they know. It was an overwhelming feeling ruined my a splash to the face and back to reality by my 17-year-old son! For one moment time had collapsed and I was neither in the past nor in the present it was just me and the sky!

I know the memory of the scorching pain I feel from the sunburn I got will fade. However, I am certain the memory of this moment will stay with me forever…

 

 

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/simplicity/”>Simplicity</a&gt;

 

Leave a Reply

