ORIGIN STORY

WEEKLY DISCOVER CHALLENGE.

Origin story huh! I’d like to think that this past year of writing has covered a lot of my origin story. The best way to describe it is a line from the movie SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION. Red describes the night Andy escaped he says,”Andy crawled through five hundred yards of shit-smelling foulness I can’t even imagine. Or maybe I just don’t want to. Five hundred yards. The length of five football fields. Just shy of half a mile!”

Then a little later he states my favorite line in the movie. “Andy Dufrane, who crawled through a river of shit and came out clean on the other side. Andy Dufrane, headed for the Pacific.

That, is how I feel about my “Origin Story”. I crawled through a river of shit and came out clean on the other side. Basically, I survived the horrors of my past long enough to see the light at the end of a very long tunnel and somehow held on until I could feel the wind in my hair and the freedom on my face.

That was my beginning. That was the sheer horror I went through and you know what I wouldn’t change it. If one little thing were different. I wouldn’t be the me, I am now. There are no regrets about going through the shit-smelling foulness that I went through. It made me stronger, wiser, and eventually able to see past that horridness to come out of it alive…

I am currently writing my autobiography and yes, at first when the memories began to flood me I was very emotional but lately I write my story as if I am a third party writing someone else’s horrors. I guess I am finally clean from all the past after all. I guess time really does heal all wounds…

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/discover-challenges/origin-stories/”>Origin Story</a>

Leave a Reply

