BRICK

BRICK

WRITE A POST IN RESPONSE TO TODAY’S ONE – WORD PROMPT. 

Brick by brick we build a wall! A wall so strong it would take a wrecking ball to demolish. We put up walls to keep people out and sometimes just sometimes those walls meant to protect us end up harming us. I have had my very own brick wall and it was up for a very long time. So long in fact that I forgot they were even there. I fell into a comfort level that was safe, secure, and more importantly all mine. I didn’t stop to think about the consequences of having a blind side with my brick wall in the way between me and the world.

As you all know I have been blogging for nearly a year now. Believe it or not, it has been more therapeutic than my (court ordered therapist) ever was. I have learned so much about myself in the last year. I didn’t even know my own brick wall was still in place until slowly brick by brick it began to come down. Yes, parts of me were left raw and exposed yet I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I have finally begun the healing process of things I had locked behind said wall for what seems like an eternity. I am finally dealing with my past and all its ups and downs. I finally know what it feels like to be free of all the ghosts hanging around that very same brick wall.

In turn, I am now letting people know the real me and if they don’t like what they see tough! I never thought I would be in a place in my life where I no longer cared what people thought of me and you know what freedom isn’t just a word its a state of mind. When your mind is free it is the most peaceful sleep I have ever had.

It’s okay to put up bricks once in a while for your own sanity but remember they will always be there unless you take them down and deal with them. Free yourself of your bricks they weight of them are too heavy to carry around forever and who knows what you are missing out on hiding behind your brick wall…

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/brick/”>Brick</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

