HOPE SPRINGS…DAISIES?

HOPE

WRITE A POST IN RESPONSE TO TODAY’S ONE – WORD PROMPT.

HOPE- A feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.

SYNONYMS- aspiration, desire, wish, expectation, ambition, aim, goal, plan, design.

I have heard this word a lot lately between all the tv shows and movies I watch, the books I read, and the music I listen to.The thing that sticks out the most is one of my favorite shows. “ONCE UPON A TIME”. Our favorite heroes have been in the underworld since the winter finale. Trying to figure out a way out of it. Trapped in this hellish version of storybrook with other heroes and villains alike. Even the head dog himself HADES! He uses his magic to keep everyone that has died there instead of allowing them to move on. Our heroes, however, begin to change all that. The infamous clock tower begins to tick and Hades even finds one lone daisy growing in the cracks of the sidewalk. He is furious knowing that the only thing that could be changing his world for the better is HOPE! The hope our heroes are giving the lost souls trapped there. The hope for something better!

Hope is the thing that separates us from the animals. We humans are one of the most resilient creatures I have ever seen. We can have an epic tragedy in our personal lives and in our country and bounce back from it. Case in point a day in my country’s history no one is ever likely to forget 9-11! It was the sheer will of everyone coming together and the hope that we can make it better and get through this crisis together. This event rocked my country to the core. Not just in New York this event’s reach went from sea to sea! It was the moment our land of the free and home of the brave was called into question. The moment we realized as Americans we weren’t the most beloved country we thought we were. It was a real eye opener. For me especially being raised to think what I want, do what I want. Now terrified that freedom would be ripped away from me. This country was in mourning for a long time. Yet, here we are today with hope. The hope for something better.

Thinking of this reminds me of one of my favorite movies “THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW”! I know I have already done a blog on this called “THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW”. Yet, when I think of great tragedy this movie always comes to mind. To go through what mankind as a whole went through to survive in this movie is amazing. I tear up every time at the end. When the father and son are finally reunited after a long tumultuous journey. (Grown men crying in a movie always chokes me up). The part that fascinated me the most was the last moments when they are rescued. Flying away in the chopper thinking they are the only survivors. They are astonished to see the rooftops are filled with other survivors! This always warms my heart. To see that mankind once again, defeated the odds and persevered. It puts a smile on my face to see the hope in their eyes. The hope for something better.

I was born into hope! I wasn’t supposed to survive my birth! Yet here I am almost 40 years later! I have been through so much in my short life. Even though at times I felt that all hope was lost and extinguished forever. I now realize without some small flicker of hope I wouldn’t be here today! I have lived in the darkest recesses of my mind. I have seen the darkest parts of myself. Yet somehow, I climbed out of that tar pit from hell and began to see the seeds of hope, spring into a whole field of daisies! As long as there are tv shows, movies, books (be they either fiction or non -fiction) and music.That moves us. I will always have hope. The hope for something better…

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/hope/”>Hope</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “HOPE SPRINGS…DAISIES?

  1. Pingback: Eating Like A Refugee | The Ration Challenge | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

