POETRY IN MOTION

Last night I did something that I never thought I would do. I went to a poetry bar. I even got up and read a poem. Even though I have never done public speaking in my life, I knew I had to do it. I was terrified yet, at the same time I was excited. To be able to read something I wrote and having my own captive audience. I loved it. I was welcomed into this new family of mine with open arms.

I even went to the bathroom at one point and for a bar, it was the cleanest  bathroom I have ever seen. On the bathroom stalls instead of filthy limericks were poems. Loving poems of embracing your inner self and loving yourself. It was so surreal. This little bar with its little stage was so amazing. I felt as if I was finally home. Somewhere that I could fit and somewhere I belong. I went there with my best friend and watching her watch me was special. She is the one person that encouraged me to pursue my writing over a year ago. She has been my muse and my best friend in every sense of the word.

I don’t think I can actually describe the feelings of what I went through last night. There have been a lot of firsts in my life lately and I find it exhilarating. It was a great night and I even got a little emotional afterwards. I was really there just to network but found another layer of myself instead. I have been trying to promote my book now on sale at barnesandnoble.com called Slim Pickings but it hasn’t been going great. It is hard for an unknown. So when I heard of this place I had to check it out. Turns out I found another piece of myself and it is an extraordinary feeling. I found out about another place up the street from the Poetry Bar that caters to writer’s. I can’t wait to check it out. Maybe there is another piece of me waiting to be discovered there…

 

Leave a Reply

