THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW

I love this movie! I have seen it about 15 times now! For some reason, I have always loved movies where there is major destruction to tall buildings and national symbols. (Let em set the record straight I would be devastated if this happened in real life! Case in point the twin towers).

On the other hand, movies with all that destruction are awesome! For some reason, the Statue of Liberty always gets jacked up or buried or something! I am starting to feel sorry for the green lady! It may be my past or something creepy in me but I just love these kinds of movies! Every time I watch this movie I tear up in the exact same spots every single time! As I was watching it this time, however, I felt different, I felt things I haven’t felt in this particular movie before!

I was grief stricken in the beginning and the middle I was cringing when people started to die just from going outside! It was the struggle mankind face as a whole. These storms didn’t care what color you were, they didn’t care if you were a good person, they didn’t care if you had a family or not. There was no discrimination only devastation to all of mankind!

The sheer desperation and lengths the dad goes to to reach his son. It is amazing! The son being sorta estranged from his father he knows in the moment his dad says,”I will come for you”. He will keep that promise at all costs.

The moment he actually tracks him down and they actually lay eyes on each other for the first time since the world changed is Priceless! I felt the hug these two men shared between them. It was a moment of pure relief and love. I am already tearing up yet again!

One scene I never really got before was the book burnings to keep warm. Maybe its my blogging and writing for almost a year now that has also fine-tuned my listening skills, because as many times as I have seen this movie. I heard this part, but never really heard it! (You know what I mean) and I was moved! Moved to the very core of me! I will just recreate this little bit for you:

ELSA: WHAT’VE YOU GOT THERE?

JEREMY: THE GUTENBERG BIBLE… IT WAS IN THE RARE BOOK ROOM.

ELSA: THINK GOD’S GONNA SAVE YOU?

JEREMY: NO…I DON’T BELIEVE IN GOD.

ELSA: YOU’RE HOLDING ON TO THAT BIBLE PRETTY TIGHT.

JEREMY: I’M PROTECTING IT. {PAUSE AS ELSA GLANCES AT J.D THROWING BOOKS ON THE FIRE}

JEREMY: THIS BIBLE… IS THE FIRST BOOK EVER PRINTED. IT REPRESENTS… THE DAWN OF THE AGE OF REASON. AS FAR AS I’M CONCERNED, THE WRITTEN WORD IS MANKIND’S GREATEST ACHIEVEMENT. {ELSA GIVES A SNORT} 

JEREMY: YOU CAN LAUGH… BUT IF WESTERN CIVILIZATION IS FINISHED… I’M GONNA SAVE AT LEAST ONE LITTLE PIECE OF IT.

This spoke volumes to me! (Ha! no pun intended)! Maybe that is why I love to write because long after I’m gone my thoughts and stories will go on and if the written word is indeed mankind’s greatest achievement! Then whoa! I am ready to join those ranks!

At the end of the movie in the aftermath of the storms that changes the face of our planet. After the son and father reunite and are rescued. You begin to see that even though these massive storms should have wiped them all out there are survivors!  Lots of them. It makes me think of the part in JURASSIC PARK. When they find the hatchling eggshells they say,“Life will find a way”. 

Life indeed found a way in both movies! As humanity begins to band together in “DAY AFTER TOMORROW”. It warmed my heart! We as the human race have been through so much throughout history. Yet we found a way to rise above through the horrible things that have befallen us. We found a way to survive against all odds!

Maybe the reason I love these kinds of movies isn’t the devastation in them but our uncompromising will to live and that humanity can come together as one in the face of great tragedy. Maybe it is the way it gives me hope for mankind!

If we are still making movies that can move me like this. Then I have every hope we can all come together and do anything! I just hope that it doesn’t take a devastation to our planet before we can wake up and realize. We are stronger together, we can defeat anything if we are all one! We need to start changing our hearts and our minds today! Not the day after tomorrow…

 

 

Leave a Reply

