PUBLIC SPEAKING

NAKED WITH BLACK SOCKS

ARE YOU COMFORTABLE ON FRONT OF PEOPLE, OR DOES THE IDEA OF PUBLIC SPEAKING MAKE YOU WANT TO HIDE IN THE BATHROOM? WHY?

I have never really had to do any public speaking! When I was a kid I was painfully shy so it would have probably been walking on glass for me. I am no longer shy but I still don’t think I could speak publicly. All those people staring at me, judging me. I cringe at the thought even now!

However, I am a big old blabber mouth in my writing. I have the freedom to write whatever I want. There are no boundaries! Sometimes I feel like I could go on, and on, forever. It gives me the courage to talk about things buried long ago. Even the courage to write to begin with. Which is really all I have ever wanted to do.

I don’t have to face my peers. I can just write to them without ever leaving my home. That is the dream…

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/naked-with-black-socks/”>Naked with Black Socks</a>

One thought on “PUBLIC SPEAKING

  1. Public speaking: wow – it’s pure adrenalin for some of us! I’ve had my share of it and finally I had to disengage. So much demagoguery. Even if you are sincere – and some public speakers do manage it, and I thought I did, it’s too easy to get carried away. Imagine, hundreds, thousands, sitting there staring at you, hanging on your words… and you know exactly what to say, and how to say it so they’ll believe you and perhaps admire you. Public speaking is a dangerous trap. I prefer writing also, because when you write, you have the luxury of going back over your statements and knocking out all the pretension out of them until you’re left with the information you wish to impart, not the ego you wish to have stroked. Also, with a piece of writing, you are much more accountable to those who read it: they have a written record of what you actually “said.” Who remembers but bits and pieces, or highlights, of any speech? It’s theatre.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

