BILINGUAL

A BIRD, A PLANE, YOU!

YOU GET TO CHOOSE ONE SUPERPOWER. PICK ONE OF THESE AND EXPLAIN YOUR CHOICE: 

  1. THE ABILITY TO SPEAK AND UNDERSTAND ANY LANGUAGE.
  2. THE ABILITY TO TRAVEL THROUGH TIME.
  3. THE ABILITY TO MAKE 2 PEOPLE AGREE WITH EACH OTHER.

If I had to pick one of the 3 following superpowers it would have to be the ability to speak any language!

Knowing my luck if I had the ability to travel through time I would probably find myself in a sticky situation and immediately killed. By way of beheading, or burning at the stake!

The ability to make 2 people agree with each other is so not a superpower. Those people already exist. They are called marriage counselors! Ha! Ha! Ha!

So we are back to the ability to speak any language. I, of course, would have to get a job where I could travel the world. Seeing all the beauty it has to offer. There would never be any kind of language barrier! People would think I’m a Genius knowing all these different languages.

That right there would be totally worth it…

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/a-bird-a-plane-you/”>A Bird, a Plane, You!</a>

 

3 thoughts on “BILINGUAL

  1. Ah well now, those are interesting. As super powers go, I would also choose the ability to speak and understand all languages, not only of earth, but of the cosmos. Travel through time is not a super power – I have it, and many people have demonstrated their ability to do so. Making 2 people agree with each other (presumably on everything) goes beyond the super power stage: you’d have to turn them into Androids and equip them with exactly the same programming. But why would anyone want any 2 people to agree? They could never have a conversation with each other, so they’d walk away to seek more interesting company. My take… ta da!

    Like

  2. Oops, I was supposed to explain why I chose my super power. Being bilingual (partial tri) I have had a taste of what it could mean to know an endless number of languages as the world is increasingly becoming a melting pot of races and nationalities. How good it would be to be able to communicate with anyone, anywhere, without fear of committing the proverbial “faux pas” of incorrect grammar. So, communication, that’s what I’d want it for. Just to increase my ability to understand someone else. And then they wouldn’t have to come back with, “I know you believe you understand what you think I said but I’m not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

