DREAMS OF CHRISTMAS FUTURE

EBB AND FLOW

OUR BLOGS MORPH OVER TIME, AS INTERESTS SHIFT AND LIFE HAPPENS. WRITE A POST FOR YOUR BLOG.- – BUT THREE YEARS IN THE FUTURE.

The alarm sounds but I don’t care. I open my eyes with a smile on my face. Today is the first day of the rest of my life. It’s the day before Christmas and I rise giddy as a school girl for the first time in years. I jump in the shower and work fast. I don’t want to be late for a very important date.

I jump out of the shower gel my hair and slip into the outfit I bought specifically for today. I look elegant yet at the same time ready to party in my pencil skirt, silk blouse and my matching purple pumps.

I grab my black purse with the gold chain strap and head to the living room. To grab my wool lined coat to beat back the cold once, I step outside. I step out into the living room and there are my boys holding up a banner that says congratulations as they simultaneously yell “Surprise”. I am so moved it almost brings me to tears. I cannot cry, though, I don’t want to smear my makeup. My husband wraps his arm around me and gives me a peck on the cheek and whispers “You did it I am proud of you”.

As tears spring to my eyes, I push him away “Don’t make me cry on this very important day”. I say giggling yet again. My oldest son home from College is smiling and hugging me while my baby who is now 12 is beaming at me with the banner in hand.

My dream is finally coming true. This is the day my first book hits the shelves of every major book store in the country. I am on my way to my very first reading at the local B and N, but this, this is the moment I will remember forever. The sheer adoration and love I see in my family’s eyes. I feel a lump start to rise in my throat and I know it’s time to go. If I don’t get out of here I am gonna cry for sure. I take quick, selfie with my three men and the Banner. We all head to the Limo my husband rented for the occasion. My first ride in a Limo ever.

We head to the book store and as we get closer my nerves begin to tingle. By the time, we pull up to our destination I am so nervous I am practically vibrating in my seat. My husband jumps out and gets my door for me so I can step out like the Rock Star he says I am now. I could get used to this. I feel like I am in a dream that I never want to wake up from. Please, somebody, pinch me! So I know its real.

I step out of the car and onto the sidewalk. There is already a line outside of the building all waiting to get my book. What? Someone spots me and a few people flock to me shouting questions.My husband shields me and we rush past the waiting crowd to get inside. I walk in and there staring me in the face is my very own silhouette with a pyramid of my books, with hundreds of tiny me’s on the cover. this is so surreal, this dream I have right now and I never want it to end. People all over the building stop and applaud and I haven’t even read anything yet.

This is it the moment I have been looking forward to all my life. The tears do fall then, I don’t care, as they splash my silk shirt. This is the best Christmas Eve ever…

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/ebb-and-flow/”>Ebb and Flow</a>

Leave a Reply

