NIGHTMARES

WRITING 101 POETRY DAY 3

I wrote two different versions of this poem I kind of  veered away from the reason I wrote it on the first one, but people at work liked it so I am putting both in. Please tell me which one you like better.

Tangled up in the sheets,

The sweat trickles down my brow.

This nightmare I have is relentless.

Every night it surrounds me.

Awaiting the moment I fall asleep,

it descends like a Vulture picking at its prey.

There is no escaping this hell I’m in,

It torments me to the brink of insanity.

I am drowning in its darkness,

I try to scream, but no one can hear me.

I swallow the strangled cry,

I choke on the stench of my fear.

I am utterly alone in my own private mental cell,

No one can help me as I face my demons in solitude.

I run from them, tripping as I go,

falling on my face in the leaves and snow.

I lay there willing myself to move,

while praying, they don’t find me.

I rise and find that extra wind,

while these demons are now breathing down my back.

I run through the vines and branches,

they cut me and I now bleed.

As the crimson drops fall to the snow,

I feel a gnarled hand wrap around my throat.

That is when, thank God I awoke.

 

Here is the next one and the point of the assignment. The dreams.

Still called Nightmares

Twisted up in the sheets I thrash about,

As the sweat trickles down my brow.

This Nightmare I have is relentless,

Every night it comes to surround me.

It haunts me even in my waking hours,

Too afraid to close my eyes I shudder at the dream to come.

Awaiting the moment I fall asleep,

It descends like a Vulture picking out its prey.

There is no escaping this hell I’m in,

It torments me to the brink of insanity.

I can’t get to the room I seek,

with its shadows and secrets its a mystery.

The gale force wind blows me down,

I struggle to get back up and face that door.

With her gnarled fingers, she tries to snatch me up,

I cannot let fear win this fight.

Defeat whispering in my ear,

I cannot listen anymore.

I cry out in avid frustration,

As I wake from this Nightmare once again.

Feeling lost and a little deflated,

I begin to weep for the answers I still haven’t gotten.

Already cringing at the thought of tonight,

where that dream will attack me on site.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

