PRESENT SELF

FROM THE TOP

IF YOU HAD THE CHANCE TO BE REBORN,WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO RETURN AS YOUR PRESENT SELF, OR WOULD YOU OPT FOR A FRESH START? TELL US WHAT MOTIVATES YOUR CHOICE.

As a child I have thought of this very topic often. I would be reborn to a richer more established family. I would be reborn to a conventional family, that never breaks or falls apart completely. I dreamed so many times of different scenarios where I would have a happier childhood. If only I was born into a different life.

Today, however I am completely about my present self. I realize as I have gotten older that being born into a different family, while is a nice fantasy. I wouldn’t be me. In my opinion I’m pretty cool. I had to have the family I have had and the trials I have been through  to get me to the person I am now. Would I change a few plot points, along the way in my story sure, who wouldn’t?

All the heartache and pain I have went through  has caused me to be a stronger, kinder, wiser person. I was meant to be born into this family, so I could bear witness and change the family history. The abuse, the pain, the horrors of my past stop with me. If I were reborn into some other life, I may not have the perspective and tenacity to want to stop the hereditary patterns of my life.

I have had some hard lessons to learn, and learn them I did. I wouldn’t trade that wisdom for the world. I have learned to love myself (as everyone should). Why on earth would I ever want to be anyone other than my PRESENT SELF.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/from-the-top-2/”>From the Top</a>

One thought on “PRESENT SELF

Leave a Reply

